Skip to content

Grand-Mamy knows best

carrots

When I was in my early teens and still living in Switzerland, every Thursday I would jump on the bus or ride my moped to my grandmother’s place in Territet for lunch. She’d always be eagerly awaiting my arrival on the balcony of her top floor flat.

I remember the familiar smell of her apartment block as you entered it and the creaky lift which slowly crept up the floors. Grand-Mamy would always open the door of the lift and give me a big hug. I liked the familiarity of this weekly ritual, and looking back, I realise how wonderful it was to be able to go home or to my grandmother’s for lunch.

I remember two things my grandmother used to make regularly: a refreshing carrot, apple and orange salad in summer and a warming and filling soupe aux raves with a dash of cream in winter. Just recalling those recipes bring all the memories of my childhood and teenage years flooding back.

As it is summer, I thought I’d share the very simple Carrot, Apple & Orange salad recipe with you: 

Carrot, Apple & Orange Salad (makes enough for 2-3 servings)

2 medium sized carrots, grated

2 medium sized apples (Braeburn, Gala), peeled and grated

The juice of one orange

Squeeze of lemon juice

Mix the apple and carrot together and add in the orange juice. Put in the fridge for 15 mins so the juices of all the ingredients combine.

Remove and serve with a squeeze of lemon. No need to add sugar. Serve.

Refreshing with a bit hit of vitamin C, this recipe really opens up your appetite before the main offering.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

